Microcogen.info/***/SOMRAD Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 19, 2017, 12:20:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
after having a bad run of bot's we now have reopened the forum to new members.  hopefully we won't be overrun again and have to cut of registration.  so if you have been trying to register, now is the time to do so.
34293 Posts in 2709 Topics by 1130 Members
Latest Member: electrosteam
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Microcogen.info/***/SOMRAD Forums
|-+  Alternators and Generators
| |-+  ST and STC generators (Moderator: veggie)
| | |-+  how do you hook up a balancing transformer
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: how do you hook up a balancing transformer  (Read 85 times)
Randybee1
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile
« on: August 08, 2017, 05:56:02 AM »

Ok guys, today's question is: I have an ST 7.5kw generator. Still building the system up but I'm looking into the future and the possibility I'll have unbalanced loads (it'll be wired for 240). So, what type of transformer do I need to balance the load? and how is it wired?

Thanks!
Logged
Randybee1
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2017, 11:41:10 AM »

Additionally. Since I have a 7.5Kw head should I be looking for a 10Kw step up transformer?
Logged
Tom
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 852



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2017, 11:50:23 AM »

I'm using a generic transformer on my system and it works fairly well. Outback sells a dedicated balancing transformer that will do what you want. Look at their installation instructions for a schematic. That is how I did mine.
Logged

Ashwamegh 6/1 - ST5 @ just over 1750 hrs

Tom
Randybee1
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2017, 03:42:49 PM »

Tom, I looked up the Outback earlier today and saw the instructions. The Outback is very expensive. If all I need is a 10Kw step up transformer I can get them for significantly less but I'm not sure what size I need. Thanks for the info. Did you have issues before installing the transformer?
Logged
glort
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 264


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2017, 04:28:59 PM »


OK, I'll admit my ignorance. I looked this up and still not sure what it's for.
Am I to take it that it shares the load across the 3 phases so if you have a single phase 1 Kw and a 2 Kw load it applies equal draw across all 3 phases?
Logged
Tom
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 852



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2017, 08:53:39 PM »

Glort, not necessary there. Here we use them to balance the load on our split phase system.

Randybee1, You are talking 2 different things here do you want to balance the load or raise the voltage? For load balancing there would be a max difference 3.75kw so a 3kw transformer would handle 99.9% of the situations. Yes my st5 would have one leg go low 104v and the other high 130v when the 120v well pump ran. The legs stay within 5v of each other now. To small of a transformer will just limit how much balancing it will do.
Logged

Ashwamegh 6/1 - ST5 @ just over 1750 hrs

Tom
mike90045
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 753


Metro 6/1 from Sam @ Gotts | Runs!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2017, 11:41:41 PM »

The outback transformer can do both, or either.  Step Up or Balancing
http://www.outbackpower.com/downloads/documents/Hardware_Accessories/autotransformer/manual.pdf
 but it's not 10Kw.
If you look for a 10Kw 120-240 step up/down transformer on ebay, you can get them pretty cheap.
Logged

Randybee1
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2017, 03:55:49 AM »

For load balancing there would be a max difference 3.75kw so a 3kw transformer would handle 99.9% of the situations. Yes my st5 would have one leg go low 104v and the other high 130v when the 120v well pump ran. The legs stay within 5v of each other now. To small of a transformer will just limit how much balancing it will do.

Tom, So you are saying that since each leg will see about 3.75kw I only need a 3kw-ish transformer?. This is where I am confused. I thought if I was pulling a total of 7.5kw I would need at least a 7.5kw step-up transformer to balance my loads.
Logged
mike90045
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 753


Metro 6/1 from Sam @ Gotts | Runs!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2017, 08:14:41 AM »

It depends somewhat how you use the transformer. 
7.5kw genhead, I assume you are producing split phase 240Vac (120V per side)  which can get by with a smaller transformer
If producing 120V and need to upconvert and balance, the single 120V winding side has to carry the full 7.5kw
  So I just gave the manual, cause I find it hard to wire stuff remotely  Grin
Logged

Randybee1
Full Member
***
Posts: 149


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2017, 08:24:29 AM »

Makes a lot more sense now. Each leg will carry 3.75 kw so I size the transformer to approximately 3.75 kw, give or take a few watts.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!