Microcogen.info/***/SOMRAD Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
February 23, 2018, 03:27:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
after having a bad run of bot's we now have reopened the forum to new members.  hopefully we won't be overrun again and have to cut of registration.  so if you have been trying to register, now is the time to do so.
34573 Posts in 2728 Topics by 1130 Members
Latest Member: electrosteam
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Microcogen.info/***/SOMRAD Forums
|-+  Microcogen/***/SOMRAD Forums
| |-+  General Discussion (Moderator: Odd Job)
| | |-+  Router Speed Control Meets 4X36 Stationary Belt Sander
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Router Speed Control Meets 4X36 Stationary Belt Sander  (Read 198 times)
LowGear
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1488


If it ain't diesel - I ain't buyin!


View Profile
« on: February 03, 2018, 06:56:04 PM »

I thought it would be so easy.  Slow my cheapski stationary belt sander with a router speed control device so I can sharpen knives and the like.  You guys that known the outcome should shed the light upon my wrinkled brow.  As I looked at this https://smile.amazon.com/Work-Sharp-Sharpening-Repeatable-Consistent/dp/B003IT5F14/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517709121&sr=8-1&keywords=knife+sharpener+belt+driven I knew I already had the stuff I needed or I thought I did.  So how do I slow it down and why didn't my brainstorm work?
Logged
mobile_bob
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2738


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 07:34:36 PM »

my bet is your stationary belt sander is powered by an induction motor... as such a speed controller will not work!

the induction motor must have 120vac nominal at 60hz (US)

routers use brush type universal motors, they can run on just about any hz, and some even DC power
the router speed controller simply alters the voltage delivered to the brush type motor to vary the speed of the router
(simply put), there are pwm units that chop the power up and maintain rpm via some form of feedback.

anyway that is my bet as to why your scheme didn't work as you would have liked.

bob g
Logged
mobile_bob
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2738


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 07:37:53 PM »

your title line states you have a 4x36 belt sander?
the amazon linked unit looks like a 1" belt?

which do you have?

every 4x36 belt sander i have seen is powered by the induction motor i alluded to earlier

the 1" job, might well work with a router speed controller.

bob g
Logged
LowGear
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1488


If it ain't diesel - I ain't buyin!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2018, 11:53:40 AM »

Sorry mobil bob.  The Amazon link shows the tool I want to transform my 4 X 36 belt sander to.  Out of the box it runs too fast and burns everything I try to sharpen except maybe for the spade and concrete scraper (re-purposed to whacking banana plants at 10 feet so the fruit doesn't fall so far).  Even my "big boy" machete gets scorched now and then.

A neighbor has one of the Amazon units and his machete cuts like a proper boning knife.  I can get 300 grit belts that should really snap my edges up to near surgery standards.  glort linked me to some SRC devices that should work if they weren't set up to work at 220 with Australian plugs but I know it's a five minute search on eBay once I get the proper terms in the search query.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!